Hope Nurtured

where hope blooms

A Little Squeezing – A Little Stretching

Leave a comment

What a week this has been! We have made the first step of reducing costs by temporarily moving in with my parents until we can find a cheap place to live while saving for our homestead.

After a crazy run of sorting, donating, selling, and packing, we got rid of a lot of clutter, but still had a ton to move. I feel good at knowing that anything we didn’t want went to good causes to benefit others – plus, it really helped lighten our load (we probably shed anywhere between 15-20 boxes of stuff before making the move as well as some furniture and larger items).

Momentary Interruption:
I want to give a
HUGE THANK YOU to my parents, uncle, & two cousins
who really helped make the move go smooth and quick!
I couldn’t have done it without you!

Now the vast majority of our stuff is in storage and we are squeezed into two bedrooms, both also stocked with other items. My daughter’s room has a crib and changing table (for the other grandbaby), and mine has a large dresser, décor, and items of my brother’s while he is working out of state. Needless to say, we are squeezed. 🙂 I have both computers, the printer, TV, school equipment, and all my personal items jammed in my bedroom. Aryanna has a bit more room and flexibility so she can play. I wanted her to have that room to help with this transition period for her.

This is going to be a time of required flexibility and adjustment on my part. I have yet to get organized and am constantly tripping over or having to move things in order to get to other things in my room. While I still plan to tackle my room in hopes of getting some sense of organization in it, I realize many of the things I need will have to be stacked, which require moving for each use.

The biggest challenge for me is going to be learning to live with others. I am accustomed to the privacy of living in our own home, a large home; and now we are sharing everything with others and have two small bedrooms for all our items. We are being stretched to make this new home work for us. I’m trying to look at it from the perspective of – it’s an opportunity to learn patience, peace, grace, and to adjust in different environments.

Change always seems hard. But change is necessary. So I’m looking at this with a positive attitude that this change is necessary to get us moving in a positive direction. We have been struggling for so long just to hang on to what we had. Now is the time to let go! This change will get us out of that and moving in a great and exciting new direction.

Blessings

Leave a comment